I will bless the LORD at all times;
his praise shall continually be in my mouth.
My soul makes its boast in the LORD;
let the afflicted hear and be glad.
Ps 34: 1-2

Of these verses, Margaret Silf reflects:
All seeking after and striving for peace in our world begins
  in the most unpeaceful place we know: out own hearts.
When we tune in to the heartbeat of God, then our words
  will be truthful and our actions pure. Only then will the
       world begin to move closer to God’s peace.

How true that reflection is. Whenever I am agitated, through anger, depression, fear, frustration, hurt, rejection, then my heart is dark, my thoughts negative, my words and actions less than kind, not to put too fine a point on it.
Lord, teach me to step outside the negatives of life, treating the superfluous with disdain, learning the lessons of only the negatives that are relevant to me, looking for the silver lining in the cloud. Grant me patience and kindness in my times of trouble, and if needs be, the ability to keep my mouth shut if only my negativity will emerge otherwise.

